Portals let you create a permanent, public, searchable view of selected folders from your Dash account. This is useful when sharing assets with partners, retailers, distributors, press etc, so that external parties can find their own assets without having to ask you to do it for them!

Screenshot of the home page of a portal in Dash

Overview of portals

What can you do with portals?

  • Make one or more folders publicly available via a shareable URL

  • Add a welcome message so visitors understand what they are looking at

  • Users can access all the same search and filter options that your normal users get

  • Control what attributes are visible to portal users

  • Create multiple portals, each giving access to different folders

What do portal users get access to?

  • The same Browse experience that your users get - e.g. searching and filtering - but only for the folders included in the portal they are accessing

  • Download any asset included in the portal, using any of the preset sizes available in your account

  • The in-app messenger in order to search help articles and contact Dash support (anonymously, unless they choose to provide their email address for us to get back to them later)

What can portal users not do?

  • Create a share link to share portal assets to other people

  • Generate embeddable links to assets

  • Create collections

  • Create saved searches

How do portals differ from a shared collection?

See our sharing overview page for a comparison of the various methods of sharing in Dash.


How to create a portal

  1. Go To Admin > Portals and click Create a portal

  2. Give your portal a name

  3. Choose the folders that you would like to give access to

  4. Enter a welcome message

  5. Click Create portal

And that's it! You can now share this portal with anyone externally. If you need to access the URL, you can click the Share button again.

How to delete a portal

If you want to prevent a portal from being accessed by users, you can delete it. Simply return to Admin > Portals, locate the portal you want to delete and click the delete button.

This is irreversible and if you want to share this portal again you will need to recreate it.

Control what attributes are visible to portal users

You can restrict which attributes are visible to portal users. Learn how in this article.

Did this answer your question?